Registration. Under Ohio law, when an application is made for registration of an assistance dog as defined by Ohio Revised Code § 955.011, and the owner can demonstrate proof by certificate or other means that the dog is an assistance dog, its owner is then exempt from any registration fees that otherwise apply.
How Can I Register My Dog as an Emotional Support Animal in Ohio? There is no need to register your animal in a database or get them a special license to take advantage of ESA protections. A doctor letter is all that is needed for access to housing.
Purchase your Ohio dog license today! Include veterinarian certification for the spay/neuter fee exclusion, if necessary. Please include a self-addressed, stamped envelope along with your application and payment so that your tag(s) may be sent to you.
December 1 – January 31
|On-time Registration - December 1st -January 31st||Late Registration - After January 31st|
|1 Year||3 Year||1 Year|
Registration for an assistance dog shall be permanent and not subject to annual renewal so long as the dog is an assistance dog. Certificates and tags stamped "Ohio Assistance Dog-Permanent Registration," with registration number, shall be issued upon registration of such a dog.
You may use the Dog License Application Form to submit for a license by mail! Michigan State Law requires all dogs to be rabies vaccinated and licensed at four (4) months of age. Dogs must be licensed within 30 days of obtaining ownership or within 30 days of the dog turning 4 months of age.
ON-LINE: REGISTER YOUR DOG ON-LINE at www.lakecountyohio.gov/auditor. Credit card payments only; A per-license processing fee applies. To access your pre-filled form you will need your Account ID and Password.
A dog license may be purchased several ways. At the Auditor's Office, 428 West Liberty Street, Wooster, Monday through Friday between the hours of 8:00 am and 4:30 pm; online at: www.waynecountydoglicense.com, this option if for renewals only, not new dogs; or at various satellite agencies throughout the county.
To update your contact information contact the Lorain County Auditor's office at (440) 329-5243 or (440) 329-5289. WHEN? Licenses must be purchased every year. All dogs 3 months of age and older must be licensed each year by January 31.
Your license proves ownership and assists animals control and shelters to quickly identify your dog and get them back to you safely. Dogs that are currently licensed tend to be kept in the shelter longer than unlicensed dogs. 2. Licensing lets people know that your dog is up to date on its rabies vaccinations.
To qualify your Therapy Dog as your ESA, you will need an ESA letter from a therapist. If your current therapist understands ESA laws and can help you write an ESA letter, this is your best route. If you do not have access to an ESA Doctor or ESA therapist, we recommend seeking support for a legitimate ESA resource.
What is the Process?